Welcome to the Doepke Blog

This is a new blog that I have put together to celebrate the history of Doepke Toys.  The focus of this blog will be primarily the tin toys but many times we will look at all the great products which came out of their factories many years ago.

15 Responses to “Welcome to the Doepke Blog”


  1. 1 seventhform November 25, 2007 at 7:17 am

    I bought a very cool old Model Toys DOEPKE “Clark” truck or tractor. I couldn’t find a model# anywhere, only a haf-smudged decal – would anyone care to see a pic of this?
    eric
    seventhform@comcast.net

  2. 2 Dr. John Thiel January 22, 2008 at 1:34 am

    It’s model number 2015.

  3. 3 Steven Doepke February 20, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    As the grandson of Charles W. Doepke I am pleased there continues to be such great interest in these quality toys.

  4. 7 dieselclunker September 7, 2008 at 11:12 am

    what a great site here,, and photos. and Steven you must be proud of your Gramps for his adventures into these great toys!

  5. 8 Stacey Bindman October 14, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Hello Again,

    I mis-named the item. The item is a sand loader and not a sand mover.

    Thanks,

    Stacey

  6. 9 Gene March 11, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Does anyone know how to remove the large tires from the rims on a Doepke Euclid? thanks, gene maddox

    • 10 moresnow April 3, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      This is a pretty tough task. I know you have to remove the center bushing but then you will need to repress that bushing later. Requires a new brass bushing

      • 11 Gene April 3, 2012 at 1:18 pm

        Thanks for your reply moresnow, this has a split steel sleeve in it with a flange on each end, but it is not a brass bushing, at least mine don’t have a bushing, I appreciate your reply. I had heard you could put the front tires in a pan of hot water and soften up the rubber enough to pry them off the rim but I did not know if this would work on the large tires or not?. Do you know of anybody who restores these trucks that I could contact? thanks, gene maddox

  7. 12 Huntington March 13, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Tracks on my #2001 Bucket Loader tend to bind or jam. Wondering if this is fairly common and perhaps not worth pursuing a fix, or if anyone has successfully dealt with this. No visible problems with alignment or individual track elements.

    • 13 moresnow April 3, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      I think age and the nature of the product. I was looking at a brand new one out of the box and they are fine as long as everything is oiled but the tracks shouldn’t need this

  8. 14 Dan castle May 22, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I know this blog deals mostly with metal toys but I have a wood puzzle of USA marked doepke i am trying to find info on. It’s 4 sided with the states on one side,animals on another, industry, ag and activetys on another and rivers mts and lakes. Any info would be helpful thanks

    • 15 Stacey Bindman May 29, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Hello Dan,

      Thanks for the e-mail.
      I’ll do some looking to see if I can find any information about the Doepke wood puzzle.

      On anther note, I have some nice photos of the Doepke sand movers and conveyer belt machines.

      They can be found on my blog oldantiquetoys.blogspot.com

      If you can use copies of them on your blog,just send me an e-mail at the address that you sent your e-mail to,and give me an e-mail address that can accept larger-sized JPEG’s. I’ll be glad to share them with you.

      Stacey Bindman


Leave a Reply

